Let’s Celebrate Easter Every Day.

If I was to look at how my Easter started yesterday, I wouldn’t be able to spot any noticeable differences from any other of my church-going Sundays (and not in a good way).  I woke up, read some verses about the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.  Ate a biscuit.  Drank some orange juice.  Got ready for church and worshiped with my family.  Then I ate more food.

10 hours later and it’s 11 o’clock.  I watched some shows that my roommates and I usually divulge in on Sunday nights.  Then, brilliantly, instead of going to bed, we decided to sit and watch a little extra.  We aimlessly flipped until we landed on the Syfy channel.  The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.  I thought to myself, “Hmm, how fitting for such a day.  Let’s watch it.”

As I was watching, I was overcome with sorrow and shame as the scene of Aslan walking to the stone began.  The Lion walked with Susan and Lucy with sad (but determined) eyes as he inched closer to his mockers, ropes, and the stone.  The allegory for Christ on the cross.  And I had helped put him there.

Then, as the scenes of the resurrection followed, I began to be filled with joy.  Joy in the fact that this great love act had been done just for me, to wash away my sins.  Joy that even though I was one of those mockers, Christ had thought of me when he was on that cross.  Joy because I was his and nobody could snatch me from his hands.

Aslan-resurrected
This part is so freakin’ cool, I always get the chills.

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe had been the first time on Easter that I felt remotely emotional about the sacrifices my Savior had made for me. It made me realize the amount of time I had put into contemplating Easter and the meaning behind all the commotions of the day.  I began to realize the amount of time I put into contemplating the death and resurrection every day.

And I was ashamed.

This Sunday I had thought easily less than 2 hours.  This being on the day of the week that is supposed to be fully devoted to rest and reflection on our lives in Christ.  This being on the one day of the year that represents the ultimate sacrifice and gift.

So, after the movie, I thought.  I remembered.  And I reminisced on the preciousness of what Easter represents.

 

Easter is not the only day to look back on the fact that death could not keep Jesus down, that our sins could not keep Jesus in the grave!  It’s an amazing gift that I can appreciate every day.  The Lord is risen indeed!

Christ gave his life for us and because of this reason, because of this act of pure and untainted love, we are given the freedom and the privilege to love Him.  It’s incredible.

 

 

 

-Ash

 

Leave a Reply

